The Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation (HGCF) supports the Entrepreneurship Initiative (EI) to foster entrepreneurship education among participating colleges and universities in the region.

Many students have a true entrepreneurial spirit. The EI informs, supports, and inspires student entrepreneurs. Equally important, it recognizes and awards students for their entrepreneurial spirit and exemplary business plans.

Each year the Entrepreneurship Initiative promotes and encourages collegiate student entrepreneurship through these events and awards.

Events

Awards

Oversight and Support

The EI is funded through the HGCF and is championed by a committee of faculty advisors from 14 participating area colleges:

 
College/University Faculty Email
American International College Mr. Marshall Epstein rosedalef@aol.com
Amherst College Ms. Emily Griffen egriffen@amherst.edu
Amherst College Ms. Megan Lyster mlyster@amherst.edu
Bay Path University Dr. Lauren J. Way lway@baypath.edu
Elms College Dr. David Kimball Kimballd@Elms.edu
Greenfield Community College Mr. Thom Simmons simmonst@gcc.mass.edu
Hampshire College Mr. Daniel Ross dross@hampshire.edu
Holyoke Community College Ms. Ellen Majka emajka@hcc.mass.edu
Mt. Holyoke College Dr. Tamara Stenn tstenn@mtholyoke.edu
Smith College Dr. Susannah Howe showe@smith.edu
Smith College Ms. Rene Heavlow rheavlow@smith.edu
Springfield College Dr. Eileen Cyr ecyr@springfieldcollege.edu
Springfield Technical Community College Ms. Diane Sabato dsabato@stcc.edu
University of Massachusetts Mr. Bob Lowry bob@buenoysano.com
University of Massachusetts Dr. Birton Cowden bcowden@isenberg.umass.edu
Western New England University Dr. Mary Schoonmaker mary.schoonmaker@wne.edu
Westfield State University Dr. Bradford Knipes  BKNIPES@westfield.ma.edu
Westfield State University Dr. Kim Sherman ksherman@westfield.ma.edu

Contact

Cari Carpenter
Director, Entrepreneurship Initiative
cari@hgf.org
413-335-3535