The Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards program has brought recognition to more than a thousand distinguished educators since its launch in 2004. A partnership of the Irene E. and George A. Davis Foundation, Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (MassMutual), and the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation, the program annually honors Western Massachusetts educators in Franklin, Hampshire and Hampden counties and seeks to motivate teachers at all stages of their careers to aspire to excellence.

Banquet Details

Award winners are celebrated at three gala banquets held on the following dates at the Log Cabin Banquet & Meeting House in Easthampton, MA:

  • Thursday, April 27, 2017 (Franklin & Hampshire Counties)
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017 (Hampden West)
  • Thursday, May 11, 2017 (Hampden East)

Award Details

Award winners receive a prize check for $250 and an additional prize check for $250 to those who submit a classroom project idea. They also receive a plaque, 3-month membership at a local YMCA and the Springfield Jewish Community Center, tuition grants to take graduate courses at several colleges and universities, and other gifts.

Pioneer Valley Excellence in Education


Michelle Roberts
Program & Event Coordinator